The Institute of European Studies has been established on October 1, 2009 within the Faculty of Law, Canon Law and Administration. Its creation had been preceded by initiating of the new degree: European Studies, in the academic year 2008/2009. Since October 2011 Institute offered two degree programs taught exclusively in English: Bachelor of Arts in European Studies and Master of Arts in European Studies. On 1 October 2016 the MA program in European Studies has been modified into the Master Degree in European Union Law. The classes for students are taught in a modern building located in the center of Lublin (called Collegium Iuridicum), where the traditional lecture halls of old Lublin School have been adjusted for the needs of multimedia based teaching methods.


The Institute is composed of 3 departments (Department of European Union Law, Department of Political Science and Department of International and European Private Law).



Faculty teaching in the degree programs offered in English comes from various University Departments, bringing to the Institute heritage of academic traditions from Oxford, Leuven, Paris, London, Notre Dame, Chicago, Washington D.C. and many other intellectual centers. It makes our interdisciplinary teaching and research possible.